Ox and Angela – Calgary, AB

Earlier this year, when my friends were visiting from out-of-town, I took them to Ox and Angela for a light dinner. We had already had a big lunch earlier that day at CHARCUT so we weren’t particularly hungry. Ox and Angela was the perfect place to go since we could order as little or as much as we wanted as most of the menu items are Spanish Tapas and are meant to be shared.

We started off sharing the Charcuterie Platter ($27), which consisted of local and imported Chorizo sausage, shaved Jamon Serrano, aged Manchego cheese topped with crushed almonds and pomegranate molasses, candied Marcona almonds with smoked paprika , marinated olives, pickles, along with some dijon mustard. My favourite part of the platter was the machego cheese topped with the pomegranate molasses. I’d never thought of pairing the two flavours together but they really work.  The candied almonds were also really addictive. I could eat the whole dish myself.

ox_and_angela_charcuterie_platter

Next, we tried the Fritters ($8), which were salt cod and potato croquettes coated with panko breading and served with a lemon aioli. They tasted fine but weren’t particularly memorable.

ox_and_angela_fritters

The third item we tried was the Kale ($6), which was sautéed with sun-dried olives, anchovy, lemon, and finished with a garlic panko topping. I liked the contrasting textures but found the dish to be a tad on the salty side.

ox_and_angela_kale

We also tried the Lamb Meatballs ($13), which were made from Ewenique Farms Alberta Lamb seasoned with spicy harissa and fresh herbs in a tomato braise. There was mixed reviews for these meatballs at our table. Some of my friends loved this dish while I thought it was just ok. I was surprised at how spicy it was and wasn’t particularly fond of the texture of the meatball. My favourite lamb meatballs are still the ones from Murrieta’s Bar & Grill.

ox_and_angela_lamb_meatballstballs

My favourite savoury dish of the evening was the Asparagus ($13), which were grilled and topped with a soft poached egg, shaved Manchego, citrus wedges and finished with truffle oil. The egg was perfectly poached and the flavours really worked well together, especially the citrus wedges. This would be a dish that I would definitely order again on my next visit.

ox_and_angela_asparagus

We had trouble deciding on dessert so we ordered a couple of different ones to share. The first was the Tarta de Santiago ($5), which was a orange and almond cake topped with icing sugar and sliced green grapes. This cake was tasty and I liked that it wasn’t overly sweet.

ox_and_angela_tarta_di_santiago

Next was the Creme Brulee ($4), which consisted of a creme fraiche custard with the traditional caramelized sugar top. Unfortunately this creme brulee was rather forgettable. The custard was too runny and the caramelized sugar top was a little too hard. This was far from being the best creme brulee that I ever had.

ox_and_angela_creme_brulee

Last and the most memorable of all was the Milk Chocolate Terrine ($6), which was topped with crushed pistachios and sea salt. This terrine was heavenly and easily one of the most memorable desserts I’ve tasted in a long time. In fact, I would say that this was definitely the highlight of the meal for me. I loved the salty sweet combination. The terrine was really decadent but not overly rich. This is a dessert that I keep on thinking about. I can’t wait to go back to have it again. I really hope they have it on the menu permanently.

ox_and_angela_milk_chocolate_terrine

I really like the concept of Ox and Angela and the tapas they have to offer. I was pleasantly surprised at how reasonably priced most of the items were. Overall, I thought the food was average compared to the tapas that I’ve had at other restaurants offering a similar concept such as the famous Toro Bravo in Portland, Oregon. The real standout for me was not the tapas but actually the Milk Chocolate Terrine for dessert. I would say that is the must order item at Ox and Angela.

Ox and Angela
528 17th Ave SW
Calgary, AB
(403)457-1432

http://www.oxandangela.com

This entry was posted in Alberta, Calgary, Dessert, Dinner, eat, Spanish and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

