Chicharron @ Pio Peruvian Rotisserie Chicken – Calgary, AB

Earlier this month, I was back at Pio Peruvian Rotisserie Chicken for lunch again with my coworkers. Pio has actually become one of my favourite lunch spots in Northeast Calgary as the food is delicious and the prices are reasonable.

On this visit, my coworkers and I decided to try an order of the Chicharron ($9.95). It consisted of big pieces of season fried pork rinds and was served with pickled onions and pan fried slices of sweet potato. Initially, I wasn’t sure what to expect and was surprised the pieces of pork rind came with meat and bones attached. I didn’t mind as kind of reminded me of deep fried pork ribs except that this version had the crispy rinds on them.  Though not exactly a healthy food choice, they were definitely delicious and I would for sure order them again as an item to share at the table.

pio_peruvian_chicharron

For my main, of course I had the Pio con Quinoa Combo ($11.99) again. I just cannot get enough of the Quinoa Salad, which consisted of quinoa, avocado, broccoli, cucumber, mint, onions, red and green peppers mixed with house vinaigrette. The rotisserie chicken itself was again succulent, well-seasoned, and flavourful. I’m pretty impressed that the food at Pio has been for the most part really consistent all the times that I’ve been.

pio_peruvian_pio_con_quinoa

Pio Peruvian Rotisserie Chicken
2929 Sunridge Way NE
Calgary, AB
(403) 681-7378

http://www.pioperu.com/

This entry was posted in Alberta, Calgary, eat, Lunch, Peruvian and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

