Tacofino Commissary (revisited) – Vancouver, BC

tacofino_commissaryTwo of my friends and I went  on a foodie getaway to Vancouver two weekends ago. Our first stop was Tacofino Commissary. I’d been raving about their fish tacos since I tried it for the first time from the Tacofino Food Truck a couple of years back. We arrived shortly before 11:30am on a Friday and was relieved that there was no line up and we were their first customers. It didn’t take long for the whole place to fill up with the lunch time crowd.

The lunch and dinner menus at Tacofino Commissary are slightly different. For lunch, the menu consists of a few appetizers along with a choice of 5 tacos – fish, pork jowl, crispy potato, yam tempura, and albacore tuna and 2 burritos – bean & cheese, and chorizo verde & cheese.  The dinner menu is quite a bit more extensive and has more choices for appetizers as well as 7 tacos to choose from – fish, pork jowl, crispy potato, yam tempura, skirt steak, albacore tuna, and chicken karaage.  I was slightly disappointed that Poke Tostada, which I had loved from my previous visit is no longer available.

We started off with an order of the Pickle Jar ($4) to share. The pickled seasonal vegetables were really delicious. It had the right balance of acidity and spice. I would definitely order this again on my next visit. It was a great way to start off the meal.

tacofino_pickle_jar

For lunch, Tacofino had a special where you can get any two of the tacos for $10.  One of my friends, ordered the Pork Jowl Taco (regular $6) and the Yam Tempura Taco (regular $6).  The Pork Jowl Taco (left) was topped with cabbage, fried shallot, pineapple, and sriracha while the Yam Tempura Taco (right) was topped with chayote and plum vinegar-soy. Of the two, my friend actually liked the Yam Tempura Taco more. Kudos to Tacofino for handling the food properly so my friend, who has a fish allergy, did not get sick from the rest of us ordering fish.

tacofino_pork_jowl_yam_tempura_tacos

My other friend and I both ordered the Fish Taco (regular $6) and the Albacore Tuna Taco (regular $6).  The Fish Taco (left) consisted of crispy batter ling cod, cabbage, chipotle mayo, and salsa fresca while the Albacore Tuna Taco (right) consisted of perfectly seared albacore tuna and was topped with soy, sesame, wakame, ginger, and wasabi mayo. The Albacore Tuna Taco used to be known as the Tuna Ta-Taco, when I had it for the first time from the Tacofino Food Truck. Of the two, my friend preferred the Albacore Tuna Taco whereas my personal preference has always been for the signature Fish Taco.

tacofino_fish_tuna_tacos

Again, Tacofino did not disappoint. All the tacos were very well executed. The prices are reasonable and the food is always fresh and delicious. My friends agreed that these tacos were actually worth going out of our way for. Tacofino remains my favourite place for fish tacos in Canada to date. And I try to get my fill every time I’m in Vancouver.

Tacofino Commissary
2327 E Hastings Street
Vancouver, BC
(604)253-TACO

http://tacofinocommissary.com

This entry was posted in British Columbia, eat, Lunch, Mexican, Vancouver and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Tacofino Commissary (revisited) – Vancouver, BC

  1. I’m a bit of a fish taco snob having had some of the best in Los Angeles + Baja Mexico! I’ve tried some fish tacos in Vancouver +……meh! I’ve been dying to try Tacofino!!! They look legit!!!

    • miss.foodie says:

      I have to warn you though, the fish taco is lightly battered and fried as opposed to the Baja version which apparently usually grilled. I haven’t been to Baja Mexico so I can’t really say for sure. However, I do really enjoy the way Tacofino makes it. If you want the grilled versioin then perhaps, the Albacore Tuna one would be the closest except the toppings have an Asian flare to it. Tasty, nonetheless!

  2. gastronomydomine says:

    “Baja Style” fish tacos are battered and fried. You can get them grilled there, but deep fried is the reference style. (I had to Google this to be certain.)

Leave a Reply

