Farm Burger – Decatur, GA

While researching online for places to eat in and around Atlanta, I came across this post on the Serious Eats hamburger site ‘Burger City Guides: Linton Hopkins’ Favorite Burgers in Atlanta’ and was intrigued by Farm Burger since they had a location near where I was going to be. I figured Linton Hopkins’ recommendations should mean something since he is the renown chef behind the gastropub Holeman & Finch and its famous limited-edition burger, which is served in limited quantities nightly after 10pm and also during Sunday brunch. Holeman & Finch was on my ‘must try’ list but I was planning to go during Sunday brunch for the burger. What I needed for this evening was a quick meal before my friend C and I headed out to Savannah, Georgia. So Farm Burger was perfect for this occasion. What makes the burgers at Farm Burger special is that they are ground fresh from 100% grassfed, antibiotic & hormone-free, locally raised beef.

farm_burgerfarm_burger_menu

My friend C ordered a regular Burger ($6.75) fully loaded with toppings such as lettuce, tomato, red onion, house pickles, roasted garlic, grainy mustard, FB sauce, and smoked paprika mayo. We also shared an order of the FB Fries ($3.50), which was topped with spicy garlic, herbs, and parmesan. We had high hopes as we both LOVE garlic. The garlic was certainly spicy, but not necessarily in a way that we prefer. We both agreed that the garlic was too raw for our liking.  I usually love spice but just not the bite from raw garlic. Had they sauteed the garlic a little longer, I think the fries would have tasted better. Our other quibble was that the parmesan garlic herb topping didn’t stick well to the fries and kept on falling off. I like garlic fries a lot and my favourite so far as been the ones from JoJo’s BBQ food truck and Palomino’s here in Calgary.

farm_burger_fb_fries

The Burger ($6.75) I had was topped with lettuce, tomato, house pickles, roasted garlic, FB suace and smoked paprika mayo. I’d a bit of a minimalist when it comes to sauce so I found this burger had a bit too much sauce for my liking. My friend C loved it though as she likes lots of sauce on her food. Since we were in the US, we were able to order these burgers cooked to the desired doneness. We had ordered ours medium-rare. Flavour-wise, I thought the burger was just ok. It didn’t have the wow factor I was hoping for. It was cooked to the correct doneness but I couldn’t really taste the beefy flavour.  To this day, I’m still thinking about the Angus burger that I had at Naglee Park Garage in San Jose, California a couple of years back.

farm_burger_burger

Overall, Farm Burger did the job. The burgers were fresh and the service was quick. While it didn’t have a wow factor for me, this meal was head and shoulders above what we might get from a fast-food burger place in terms of quality and the price was very reasonable. I’d go back to Farm Burger again if I ever happen to be in the Atlanta area and needed a quick but tasty meal.

Farm Burger (Decatur)
410B W. Ponce De Leon
Decatur, GA
(404)378-5077

http://www.farmburger.net

This entry was posted in American, Decatur, Dinner, eat, Georgia and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

