Silver Sage Burgers (CFM) – Calgary, AB

silver_sage_burgerSilver Sage Burgers is stall at the Calgary Farmer’s Market (CFM), located just off Blackfoot Trail, near Heritage Drive SE.  Their signature offering is the Silver Sage seasoned burger, which consists of a hand-formed, all-beef patty made from Silver Sage Natural Beef that is spiced, grilled on an open flame, and served on a freshly baked bun from Yum Bakery, another vendor also located at the Market.  Silver Sage also has another stall at CFM that is a full service beef shop, featuring a complete range of fresh and frozen natural beef products. All their beef is hormone free, antibiotic free, grass raised, grain finished, and dry aged.

On my first visit, my friend A wanted to try the BBQ Beef on a Bun ($6.50), which consisted of sliced beef and BBQ sauce on a toasted bun. I tasted the BBQ Beef on a Bun. It was tasty but not really my kind of thing. I liked that the beef was really tender but I don’t usually prefer my meat drenched in sauce so I felt the BBQ sauce overpowered the flavour of the meat a bit. But my friend really enjoyed it. We also shared a regular order of the Handcut Potato Fries ($3 for regular; $5 for large). I’m usually not even a huge fan of fries but these fries were amazing! They were perfectly crispy on the outside and potato-ey on the inside. They were actually really addictive. Again, one order would probably be too much for me but they were perfect for sharing.

silver_sage_bbq_beef_bun

I decided to try the signature Silver Sage Burger ($7.50 for 6oz), which came topped with cheddar cheese, lettuce, tomato, pickles and red onion. I was really impressed with this burger. I really liked how flavourful and juicy the patty was. This was easily one of the juiciest burgers that I’ve ever had.

silver_sage_burger

I loved the burger so much I went again a couple of weeks later for lunch with a coworker. This time I ordered the Bacon Burger ($8.50 for 6oz), which came topped with crispy bacon, cheddar cheese, lettuce, tomato, pickles and peppers. It was just as tasty as the one I had on my previous visit, except this one was even better since it had bacon!  After having tried the burgers and fries from Silver Sage, it’s going to be hard for me to try any of the other food stalls when I go to CFM as I keep on thinking about Silver Sage’s burgers and fries and wouldn’t want to forgo the chance to have them again.

silver_sage_bacon_burger

Silver Sage Burgers
Calgary Farmers’ Market
510 77th Avenue SE
Calgary, AB
(403)554-3213

http://silversagebeef.com

This entry was posted in Alberta, American, Calgary, eat, Lunch and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

