Apple Tarts @ New Town Bakery & Restaurant – Vancouver, BC

New Town Bakery is a Filipino-Chinese bakery with their flagship location in the heart of Vancouver’s Chinatown. Even though I’ve been to Chinatown countless number of times during my visits to Vancouver in the past (mainly to get my fill of Garlic Chicken Wings from Phnom Penh), I’d never know about New Town Bakery. One reason is because I’m not typically a huge fan of Asian baked goods and pastries. And so normally I wouldn’t go out of my way to check out an Asian bakery. Last fall, as my foodie friend Grayelf and I were finishing our Snack Crawl of Vancouver’s Downtown Eastside and walking back past Chinatown, she asked if I’d ever tried the Apple Tarts from New Town Bakery since these tarts were a Chinese Restaurant Awards winner in 2009 for the Chinese Pastry category. It was then that I learnt of  New Town Bakery and their Apple Tarts.

I still remember my first time walking into New Town looking for these tarts. I walked right past them without even noticing them because in my mind, I was expecting a small pie-like pastry. I’m not sure why they call these Apple Tarts as to me, they better resemble an “apple dumpling” rather than a tart. Ever since trying these for the first time last fall, I’ve been craving them whenever I’m in the neighbourhood. Last month, when I was visiting Vancouver, I brought my foodie friends C and L to New Town Bakery so that they could try some.

new_town_bakery_apple_tarts

I just can’t believe how good and inexpensive these Apple Tarts ($1 each; $5.50 for half doxen; $10.50 for a doxen)  are. The pastry is so flaky and the filling is not too sweet. They taste amazing when they are still fresh and warm. If you are in the Chinatown area and need a snack or some dessert, I definitely recommend these Apple Tarts from New Town Bakery.

new_town_bakery_apple_tart

New Town Bakery & Restaurant (Chinatown location)
148 E Pender St
Vancouver, BC
(604)681-1828

http://newtownbakery.ca

This entry was posted in British Columbia, Chinese, eat, Snack, Vancouver and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

