YYC Burger Week @ Naina’s Kitchen – Calgary, AB

nainas_kitchenFor my second burger for YYC Burger Week, I decided to check out Naina’s Kitchen with my foodie friend and fellow blogger, Anna of Anna’s Appetite. Located just off Blackfoot Trail and Ogden Road SE, Naina’s Kitchen is a homestyle diner serving up made-from-scratch burgers and fries, mac ‘n cheese, salads, baked goods, as well as a full array of breakfast items. Their claim to fame is the  Stuffed Burger, which consists of a half-pound patty filled with your choice of cheese, mushrooms, onion, sundried tomatoes, bacon, ham, spinach, jalapenos or pulled pork. I’d been to Naina’s Kitchen before last summer and totally loved the Stuffed Burger so I knew I’d be in for a real treat for the YYC Burger Week feature.

Our mission yesterday was to try the YYC Burger week feature burger, which was the Nainalicious Burger.  Having experienced a Naina’s stuffed burger before on my previous visit, I suggested to Anna that we share this burger. I know it’s a bit of a cop out but I don’t want to get “burgered out” before the week is over. This was only Day 2 and I still have many burgers that I want to try.  I’m sure it’s also to the relief of our hearts and arteries as it’s probably not the smartest nor healthiest thing to be eating a burger almost every day for a week.

nainas_kitchen_yyc_burger_week

The Nainalicious Burger ($15) consisted of a 1/2 pound burger stuffed with pulled pork, caramelized onions, aged cheddar, and slices of Granny Smith apple. The burger came with a choice of homemade fries, soup, or salad.

nainas_kitchen_nainalicious_burger

The burger didn’t look all that massive from the outside. But once we cut it in half, we saw how monstrous the patty was.  The burger itself was really moist and juicy. The slices of tart Granny Smith apple nicely balanced the cheddar and the pulled pork. I liked that the bun was nicely toasted and was sturdy enough to hold all the components together well. For a diner-style burger, this one was top-notch.

nainas_kitchen_nainalicious_burger

For our side, we decided to have the Mushroom Barley Soup. The soup was delicious and easily one of the best Mushroom Barley soups that I’ve had. It definitely tasted homemade. I’d definitely order this soup again if it was on the menu during my next visit.

nainas_kitchen_mushroom_barley_soup

For our second item, Anna and I decided to share the Pork and Apple Salad ($9.25). It consisted of crisp romaine topped with pulled pork, chunks of tart Granny Smith apple, pecans, and croutons. It was served with an apple cider vinaigrette. The salad was really refreshing  and the perfect accompaniment to the Nainalicious Burger. I’m so glad that Anna agreed to share the burger and salad with me. It was just the right amount of food for the both of us. We left full but not overstuffed nor guilty of having totally pigged out.

nainas_kitchen_pork_and_apple_salad

Since my last visit, Naina’s has changed their hours. They are now open Wednesdays to Fridays from 8 am to 3pm and on the weekends from 9 am to 2 pm. They are closed Mondays, Tuesdays, and holidays.

Naina’s Kitchen
#8, 2808 Ogden Rd SE
Calgary, AB
(403) 263-6355

http://nainaskitchen.com

This entry was posted in Alberta, American, Calgary, eat, Lunch and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to YYC Burger Week @ Naina’s Kitchen – Calgary, AB

  1. Dear lord!!! I’ve got to take my husband there!!!!

Leave a Reply

