Without Papers Pizza (revisited) – Calgary, AB

It has probably been at least over a year since I last visited Without Papers Pizza. Though they are my favorite place in Calgary for thin crust pizza, I just haven’t had a chance to go back because there have been so many new and different places for me to try. I finally made it back a couple of weekends ago when my friend M was craving pizza.

We started off sharing an order of the Roasted Vegetable Quinoa Salad ($11). I have been a huge fan of quinoa salads ever since trying the Peruvian-style one from Pio Peruvian Rotisserie Chicken last year. Compared to the version from Pio, I thought this one tasted alright though the quinoa was a tad too soft for my liking. It a personal preference since my friend M prefers the quinoa in this version.  Personally, I like the quinoa to be slightly more al dente like the version from Pio. I liked that the roasted vegetables were still crunchy but flavour-wise, I wished that this salad had a bit more acidity. When it comes to quinoa salads, my favourite is still the Peruvian-style one from Pio.

without_papers_roasted_vegetable_quinoa_salad

We also shared an order of the House-marinated Olives ($7), which were as good as always. Both my friend M and I are huge fans of these olives ever since we tried it on our first visit to Without Papers. For us, this is now a must order item on every visit.

without_papers_marinated_olives

We then shared The Prosciutto Happiness ($19). We were both sad to learn that the Shroom Pizza is not available at the moment as apparently, they’ve had problems with the mushroom supply. The Shroom has by far been our favourite pizza at Without Papers. The Prosciutto Happiness  consisted of prosciutto cotto, fresh pea shoots, fresh mozzarella, pecorino, and tomato sauce. This was a tasty pizza and an adequate stand-in for the Shroom. I liked that the toppings were really fresh and light and the pizza was not greasy at all. The crust was light and crisp with a slight chewiness as always. It’s great to see that the pizza at Without Papers is just as good as before. If the Shroom is not available, I would order The Prosciutto Happiness again on my next visit. But I really do hope they are able to bring the Shroom back soon.

without_papers_prosciutto_happiness

Without Papers Pizza
Upstairs, 1216 – 9th Ave SE
Calgary, AB
(403)457-1154

http://www.wopizza.ca

This entry was posted in Alberta, Calgary, Dinner, eat, Italian, Pizza and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

