Fish Tacos @ Mad Rose Pub – Calgary, AB

mad_rose_pubEarlier this month, a friend and I decided to hit up Mad Rose Pub for lunch. My coworker had tried the fish tacos at Mad Rose Pub once and enjoyed them so I was curious. It’s no secret that I’m a huge fan of fish tacos. Unfortunately, in landlocked Calgary, great fish tacos are hard to come by. I haven’t been to Mexico before so I haven’t experienced the “real” ones yet but so far my favorite fish tacos are the ones from Tacofino Food Truck and Commissary in Vancouver. Whenever I see fish tacos on the menu in Calgary, I’m tempted to try them in hopes that I can find a half decent version to satisfy my craving until my next trip to Vancouver. Mad Rose Pub opened up recently in the far northwest neighbourhood of Royal Oak. From the outside, the pub doesn’t appear to be that big but once inside I was actually quite surprised at how spacious it was. The decor was very sleek and contemporary.

Although they have quite an extensive menu which included breakfast and brunch items along with pizza, burgers, and pasta, I knew right away that I wanted to try the Fish Tacos ($13). The Fish Tacos came with a choice of skinny fries, thick cut steak fries, waffle fries, soup, or salad. I decided to choose the mixed green salad as my side to go with the fish tacos.

mad_rose_pub_fish_tacos

The Fish Tacos consisted of lightly battered tilapia topped with coleslaw, lettuce, diced tomato and their special house made sauce.  I thought these tacos were just alright. They definitely didn’t knock my socks off. Though the tilapia was well-seasoned, I thought the tacos overall were a bit bland and not that well-balanced flavour-wise. To me, the fish tacos lacked acidity. A little pico de gallo and some lime would have gone a long ways to brighten the flavours..

mad_rose_pub_fish_tacos2

On my next visit to Mad Rose Pub, I’ll opt to try something else. As for fish tacos in Calgary, I personally stick with the Joey’s Fish Tacos from Joey’s Urban.

Mad Rose Pub
15 Royal Vista Pl NW
Calgary, AB
(403) 719-0770

http://www.madrosepub.com

This entry was posted in Alberta, American, Calgary, eat, Lunch and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

