Red’s in Ramsay – Calgary, AB

Red’s in Ramsay finally opened last Thursday. I was lucky to be invited for a sneak peek last week on the day before their official opening. It’d been a couple of years since I’ve been to the Red’s on 4th location. There has been some additions to the menu since I last visited that I was really excited to try. This new Red’s location in the neighbourhood of Ramsay is really spacious compared to their 4th Street location and they even have a parking lot on the side. The breakfast and lunch menu for this location is very similar to the one from their 4th Street location.

reds_in_ramsayreds_in_ramsay_interior

My dining companion was on a low carb diet so the Steak and Eggs was perfect dish for her. The Steak and Eggs consisted of a charbroiled 6oz AAA steak along with 2 eggs and some fresh fruit.

reds_steak_and_eggs

I decided to try the Braised Short Rib Sandwich, which was served on brioche bun and topped with house coleslaw. The sandwich came with a choice of side – fries, daily soup, or side salad. I wanted to try the Braised Short Rib Sandwich because I’d always been fond of their Short Rib Hash but wasn’t particularly in the mood for a breakfast plate for lunch that day. Secondly, this was a new menu item to me as I don’t recall this on their menu during my last visit a couple of years back. This Braised Short Rib Sandwich did not disappoint. The short rib was really moist, tender, and really flavourful, albeit a touch sweet for my taste, but that’s totally a matter of personal preference. I really enjoyed the lightly toasted buttery brioche bun and the accompanying slaw provided a nice textural and flavour contrast to the tender short rib pieces. For my side, I decided to try the Daily Fresh Soup, which happened to be a house made minestrone. I was impressed with how good the soup tasted. It truly tasted homemade and had lots of seasonal vegetables.  This turned out to be a really filling lunch, almost to the point that I didn’t have room for dessert but I couldn’t resist when I was told that their pies were made in-house.

reds_braised_short_rib_sandwich

For dessert, we shared a slice of the House made Apple Pie along with a scoop of vanilla ice cream on the side. I was impressed with how good the apple pie tasted. Again, it truly tasted homemade. I liked that the slices of apple were toothsome and that overall the pie was not too sweet.

reds_apple_pie

This is definitely a welcome addition to the neighbourhood as there aren’t that many dining choices in the area. Red’s has an all day breakfast and lunch menu and will be launching a new dinner menu soon. One good thing to note for those seeking a gluten-free meal is that Red’s has gluten-free bread available as a substitute for their breakfast plates and sandwiches.

Red’s in Ramsay
1101-8th St S.E.
Calgary, AB
(587)353-1188

http://redsdiner.com/location/ramsay

This entry was posted in Alberta, American, Breakfast/Brunch, Calgary, Canadian, eat, Lunch and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

