RECIPE: Hazelnut Shortbread

I’m a huge fan of all things hazelnut. When I had ground hazelnuts leftover from another recipe, I tried to find a way to use it up. I stumbled across this recipe for hazelnut shortbread.  It was my first attempt ever at making shortbread and I was really surprised at how straightforward and it easy was.  This recipe is practically fool-proof and the results are delicious!  I, especially, like that they weren’t too sweet as I don’t have much of a sweet tooth. The shortbread had a really nice nutty flavour and one could definitely taste the hazelnuts. I also really liked the texture of the shortbread. 

Makes about 36 shortbread cookies

    3 cups all-purpose flour
    3/4 cup confectioners’ sugar
    1/2 cup hazelnuts, toasted, skins removed, and ground
    1/4 teaspoon salt
    1 1/4 cups (2 1/2 sticks) unsalted butter, cut into small pieces

1. Preheat oven to 325°.
2. Stir together flour, confectioners’ sugar, hazelnuts and salt in large bowl.
3. Cut butter into flour mixture with pastry blender until mixture resembles coarse meal. 4. Knead until mixture holds together. Divide dough in half.
5. Rollout one-half of the dough to about 1/4 inch thick on a lightly floured surface. Using a 2-inch cookie cutter, cut out circles and place on ungreased baking sheet about 1 inch apart. Repeat, using all dough. Prick with fork.
5. Bake at 325° for about 20 minutes, or until cookies just start to get golden. Remove from oven. Transfer on to wire rack and cool completely. 

Adapted from Family Circle.


 

This entry was posted in bake, Cookies and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to RECIPE: Hazelnut Shortbread

  1. Pingback: Vegan Nanaimo Bars - Because I Like Chocolate

Leave a comment